Four Gay Men

By Drew Pisarra

1. Hard knocks after midnight

You wake me up to tell me that you’re drunk again 

then talk of death. You talk as if we’re peers from some 

same place yet I have never seen Fort Worth. You’ve 

lost friends, lovers, and your dad. I’ve lost no 

one really not for years. The aches we share have more 

to do with what we want than what we have or had. 

You understand the humps I don’t. I wonder do 

you crave a bra of roughened hands like I do. Do 

you feel the rend, the split of seams, the fray and tear 

of loss not only as what has been but as what 

might be. I’ve yet to lose a friend; I’ve not had 

a lover; my dad isn’t dead. Instead, I talk 

to you of touching objects, tell you sometimes clothes 

contain a person’s past. The wardrobe’s full of ghosts. 

You want none of it. You pound murmur down. You punch 

holes in solace; searching for that shared grief; knowing 

that if not death, sickness I have seen, have witnessed: 

sore and lesions, sweats, that horrid, harping cough. 

Liquor’s left this gentle lilt upon your tongue 

that fails to soften words whose solid centers hit 

like rocks until I want to pull you from my ear 

and slip you down against me, feel a heat, that warmth 

of contact, exploit comfort, fool myself to thinking 

that by slipping each inside the other we could 

black out—then flash! inside my brain, I realize 

I’ve used sex in every way but how I want, 

in every way but how I wait…for what. 

What is desire. What is hunger. Who’s revolting, 

you or me, and in which way. Quiet is my cheap trick. 

It fools everyone. You’re thinking when I’m not. 

Silence is the hammer. Watch. I hit myself. 

I will not get involved. I will not get involved. 

This curative, this necessary therapy, 

survival tool, I badly need but do not do. 

Hereby, the wire hanger slays another bitch. 

The needle punctures yet another life and lung. 

Let’s sit down on the sidewalk, put our cupped hand out 

like beggars and hope one of the passing boys may grace 

us with a kiss instead of coins. Friendship has little 

to do with this. Get up. Wake up. Blood brothers let us 

strive to be despite our never having made that final cut. 

II. Austin 

There’s a crazy man where I work who tells me, I’m crazy 

because I don’t believe in God. Yes. I live in a godless 

world and I work with the mentally ill. He asks: What do you 

believe in. I have no sure answer and stand in a silence 

that’s stupid until he asks whether I believe in love. 

I quickly say, yes, I do, then wonder what is it I mean 

Exactly. You see, I love you not like cakes and 

candles, nor like chocolate hearts or single roses. 

I love you like…well, right there’s the problem 

for as the man at work says: You never know, man. 

For him it’s a funny refrain but for me it’s a haunting 

reminder that givens are things I remember: 

how I stopped you on a highway bridge, and rattled you 

with technical terms I didn’t know, and didn’t want to, 

really grasping for a common ground. I remember when 

projections of you swimming in the 19th century splashed 

across my guest room wall. And when you were pregnant: 

Halloween. (I was a pink vision of Peter Pan and the women 

who played him.) I have sent you letters of my dreams. 

Remember. Remember how we danced in a sea of black 

and I was a bleached blonde beacon of light. 

And the trip to the junk heap as scary as intimacy— 

so falsely associated with a clammy hand on the knee 

or wet hungry eyes and while there was that drug-induced 

holiday that found us in bed and you were a feast 

and both my hands were mouths that’s not what 

I’m talking about. It’s that and more. 

There’s a woman where I work who changes clothes at least 

five times a day. There’s another who one Friday night 

cut her leg up like mutton. Hey, look, I’m alive. We’re alive. 

And while we’re alive on this planet, remember and savor 

the memories that maybe already I cannot remember, 

that may not be there in old age for old age might not 

come or if it does may turn youth to a factual blur. 

My journal, that record, might end up discarded, 

discounted, or tossed in the back of a box and elude 

the time capsule that says: We too were here. 

Austin, your name is a city, your body, a land that 

I’ve touched. Remember my pretty wrists and the simple 

Sight of me as I look right now 100 miles away in your head. 

III. Hands off and on 

Deep inside me where the supposed answer lies 

I’m moved despite your yawning conversation 

a dialogue where I’m permitted thoughtful looks 

not words or is it me who crumbles up inside 

despite the touch to your tattoos I disallow 

my fingers for I’ve seen that warning flaw 

that little abscess shaky hands and heard 

the frank confession stain perfection that 

I search for. 

                   We are simple thinking worlds 

of art and commerce show a sheer perfection; 

it’s a sheer veneer as clear as water and 

impossible to grasp what your tattoos could 

tell what enigmatic message beckons my fingers 

like Braille to you tucking you and a T-shirt 

inside your pants turning my brain to a camera 

with a foggy lens. 

                            How do I write love letters 

to a stranger how can I kiss the details I’ve 

yet to learn my fingers for filing the flopper for 

pissing my heart still a functional pump how 

many men have tempted disclosure unveiling 

the bond misread as graft love I can write you 

letters safe at my desk since I’m bereft 

of stamps. 

                 Outside my window you run to meet me 

as I witness three stories above that day 

replays your face opens like a flower mine 

stays closed the perennial bud green doesn’t 

burn the only smoke comes from a cigarette 

rolled by a hand yours never touched my mouth 

that wasted crop and hidden harvest love 

never entered the picture only longing. 

IV. Park 

There’s the park. There’s the playground. There’s the 

children’s fort with its southwestern wall, a funhouse 

mirror of tin. At one end you see yourself fattened, 

the other side lengthens and thins. I know you’d like 

an elongation, short man that you are though certainly 

no circus freak. And beanpole that I am I can’t resist 

the sight of me flattened out to a thuggish block. 

We used to live but a block from each other but now 

we’re in odd parts of town. I relish that summer of meals 

at your rickety table where we mimicked and tried on 

the other’s expressions, found cares and woes reflected 

in the other’s face as if we were two playful, primping 

apes. I want to return to that time when the verbal 

came second and bodily functions could cause a bit 

lip or open laughs. Matter made all the difference. 

The major difference between the Golden Age and the Atomic 

is cause, not effect. Nostalgia is one great lie. Each era, 

every season, a single day is a cycle repeating itself as 

a variant of the same. Naught’s new; all changes. Mornings 

find you at the gym: grunting, grinning at your pumped up 

reflection. At home, I sit in the tub and soak. Everything’s 

always been bone to me. The suds have long since dissolved. 

Through murky water, I see the body I was born with: 

angles, elbows, knees, this pencil neck. I want a life 

of glass and steel. I want you in my city. 

This city’s full of parks. These patches of nature are no 

inconsistency. Our daily hypocrisies are one of the joys 

of living, not one of its shames. The Absolute is for 

computers, the world of the bit, the byte, the zero and 

the one. There is no God, no greater thing than this, one 

thing called life, the gift called love or friendship, 

dearest, always, keep in touch, be mine. There’s too 

many ways to part. Each act and item suggests its opposite 

hence funerals can be parades. A graveyard could be a park. 

Editor’s note: This is a reprint from Untitled & Other Poems

A literary grantee of the Cafe Royal Cultural Foundation and Curious Elixirs: Curious Creators, Drew Pisarra is the author of You’re Pretty Gay (2021), a collection of short stories; Infinity Standing Up (2019), a collection of poetry; and The Strange Case of Nick M. (2021), a radio play commissioned by Imago Theatre. His poetry has appeared everywhere from the Whitney Biennial 2022 to Analog sci-fi magazine.

Author: authorbios

The literary journal dedicated only to author bios.

Leave a comment