Redbuds

By Ace Boggess

Why are they called redbuds

when they’re sort of purple, I ask,

as I do every year when I see them

highlighting hills along the highway

like thousands of painted lips puckering—

not the bright, blinding boldness

of red lips in the Rolling Stones logo,

or after a one-night stand, the red

of a lipstick kiss on the bathroom mirror,

not even the overly-red red

smeared across a drag queen’s mouth

when the show ends, the last song

played, final dollar paid for a kiss.

More a mauve or mulberry

like it was meant to be red

but someone forgot to adjust

the tint & brightness on an old TV.

Why do I ask this every year?

I’ve never gotten an answer.

I like to think there is no answer,

that it’s one of those mysteries

like how I smack the back of my foot

on a door when I’m moving forward.

There has to be an answer.

I could look it up on Google

or Wikipedia, type in the search bar,

Why are they called redbuds

when they’re sort of purple? &

then Google or Wikipedia would tell me,

ruining the magic of what I see

speckled amidst such green,

a masterwork I lack words to describe

aside from this question

meant more for my benefit

than as a search for truth.

Ace Boggess is author of six books of poetry, most recently Escape Envy. His writing has appeared in Michigan Quarterly Review, Notre Dame Review, Harvard Review, Mid-American Review, and other journals. An ex-con, he lives in Charleston, West Virginia, where he writes and tries to stay out of trouble. His seventh collection, Tell Us How to Live, is forthcoming in 2024 from Fernwood Press.

Author: authorbios

The literary journal dedicated only to author bios.

Leave a comment